Skip to main content

International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme: Community Projects

Library Media Center

Community Project Objective

eBooks

Click here for our Leadership & Volunteering collection.

To access our eBooks from home, You must be logged in to our catalog. 

Click here to access the Westlake Library Catalog

  1. Click Westlake Middle/High School
  2. Login (Windows Login)

Identities and Relationships

Who we are

An inquiry into the nature of the self; beliefs and values; personal, physical, mental, social and spiritual health; human relationships including families, friends, communities and cultures; rights and responsibilities; what it means to be human.

Databases

eBooks

Click here for our collection on Identities & Relationships collection.

(you will have to login to access at home.)

Community Organizations

Scientific and Technical Innovation

How the world works

An inquiry into the natural world and its laws; the interaction between the natural world (physical a

nd biological) and human societies; how humans use their understanding of scientific principles; the impact of scientific and technological advances on society and on the environment.

Databases

eBooks

Click here for our Scientific & Technical Innovations collection.

(you will have to login to access at home.)

Local Community Organziations


Dimensions of Time and Space

Where we are in place and time

 

An inquiry into orientation in place and time; personal histories; homes and journeys; the discoveries, explorations and migrations of humankind; the relationships between, and the interconnectedness of, individuals and civilizations, from local and global perspectives.

Databases

eBooks

Click here for collection of books on Dimensions of Time & Space.

(You will have to login to access at home.)

Community Organizations

Globalization and Sustainability

How we organize ourselves

 

An inquiry into the interconnectedness of human-made systems and communities; the structure and function of organizations; societal decision-making; economic activities and their impact on humankind and the environment.

Databases

eBooks

Click here to view our collection of eBooks on Globalization & Sustainability.

(You will have to login to access at home.)

Local Community Organziations

Personal and Cultural Expression

How we express ourselves

 

An inquiry into the ways in which we discover and express ideas, feelings, nature, culture, beliefs and values; the ways in which we reflect on, extend and enjoy our creativity; our appreciation of the aesthetic.

Databases

eBooks

Click here for our collection of eBooks on Personal & Cultural Expression.

(you will have to login to access at home.)

 

Websites

Local Community Organziations

Fairness and Development

Sharing the planet

 

An inquiry into rights and responsibilities in the struggle to share finite resources with other people and with other living things;communities and the relationships within and between them; access to equal opportunities;peace and conflict resolution.

Databases

eBooks

Click here for our Fairness & Development collection.

(you will have to login to access at home.)

Websites

Local Community Organziations

Contact Information

Westlake Middle/High School Library Media Center  | 825 Westlake Drive | Thornwood, NY  10594 | (914) 769-8311 ext. 1800